Angel Has Fallen is an upcoming American action thriller film directed by Ric Roman Waugh and starring Gerard Butler and Morgan Freeman. It is the third film in the Olympus Has Fallen film series, following Olympus Has Fallen (2013) and London Has Fallen (2016).

It is scheduled to be released on August 23, 2019, by Lionsgate.

After the events in the previous film, Secret Service agent Mike Banning finds himself framed for an assassination attempt on the President. Pursued by his own agency and the FBI, Banning races to clear his name and uncover the real terrorist threat which has set its sights on Air Force One.

Gerard Butler as Mike Banning
Morgan Freeman as President Allan Trumbull
Danny Huston as Wade Jennings
Michael Landes as Sam Wilcox, White House Chief of Staff
Tim Blake Nelson as Vice President Kirby

On October 28, 2016, it was announced that a sequel titled Angel Has Fallen is in development, with Gerard Butler reprising his role, as well as once again acting as a producer on the film.[9]

On July 25, 2017, Ric Roman Waugh was announced as director for Angel Has Fallen.[10] On January 10th, 2018, Holt McCallany joined the cast as Wade Jennings, an ex-military turned head of a technology company.[11] On January 18, 2018, Jada Pinkett Smith and Tim Blake Nelson are confirmed to appear in Angel Has Fallen and the filming of it is set to start on February 7, 2018.[6][3] On February 13, 2018, Piper Perabo joined the cast.[5] On March 12, 2018, Lance Reddick joined the cast as Secret Service Director Gentry.[7] On March 21, 2018, Michael Landes is set to portray White House Chief of Staff Sam Wilcox.[2] On January 22, 2019, David Buckley was announced as the film’s composer, replacing Trevor Morris who scored the previous 2 films.[12]

Angel Has Fallen has started filming in Virginia Water Lake.[13] Holt McCallany had to drop out of his role on Angel Has Fallen due to scheduling conflicts with the show Mindhunter.[14]

(Visited 13 times, 1 visits today)